June 1st–15th 2014

June 1st – 8th

The message from June 1st was titled, “How Jesus Helps Us Slow Down”. Our  “hurry up” lifestyle has a negative impact on us  in that 1) We feel more stress (Ecclesiastes 5:3), 2) We lose our joy (Job 9:25), and 3) We don’t hear God (Psalm 46:10). Four Strategies For Slowing Down are; 1) Learn Contentment (Philippians 4:11, 1 Timothy 6:6-7), 2) Listen Before Speaking (James 1:19, Ecclesiastes 5:2), 3) Commit to Rest (Exodus 20:9-10) – rest your body, recharge your emotions, and refocus your spirit (Psalm 127:2), and 4) Trust God’s Timing (Ecclesiastes 3:11).
I finished reading The Debt by Angela Hunt, I started reading it on May 26th.

DSCN1341 copy
My ice cream on my cone had a heart shaped hole in it.
I’m not sure how that happened.

I took my mom to the store (using my oldest nephew’s car). We went to a store that had some meat on sale, we got some then went to another store to get some things. We were going to get some gas at Walmart, but I thought that gas was cheaper elsewhere. We went somewhere else to get gas in the car. Shortly after we got home my oldest nephew helped my mom and I put the AC unit in the window in the living room. My nephew fixed the bracing that we have outside for the AC unit. I did some laundry and hung it up in the basement since it might rain. After super my mom helped me move some things in the backyard because the mowers come tomorrow (on Tuesdays).

DSCN1344 copy
I saw this grill at Schnucks today.
I thought it was an interesting shape.

I did some laundry and hung it up outside. I read some outside in my mom’s swing. I soaked the grill plates (or whatever it is that you call the things you actually grill on that come off the grill) and cleaned the grill so that my dad could grill out. I took the trash out and put a small bike that we no longer want by the curb. My next to the oldest nephew is spending the night.

DSCN1368 copy
One of the roses in the backyard.

I took my mom to her therapy session then went to the library to return an item and pick up one I had on hold. I asked my next to the oldest nephew which material he wanted me to use to make him a pair of shorts, since I didn’t give him anything for his birthday. [OHMY…Here it is August 5th as I type this and I still haven’t started these shorts. I did buy a new pattern to use. Update: I made the shorts and finished them on August 11th.] I did some laundry and hung it up in the basement since it might rain. I cleaned some in the living room and dinning room. I sharpened some pencils that needed sharpened (they had been used and the tips weren’t sharp). I used a manual one and ended up with a small blister on my middle finger. My oldest nephew took me to get supper. I cleaned some more. Ugh, my tablet is having WIFI problems. My laptop is connected fine, but not my tablet. 

DSCN1391 copy
I was going to make peanut butter cookies in my cookie press,
but my next to the oldest nephew wanted regular peanut butter cookies.
These are the cookies I made.

DSCN1388 copy
Here is the cookie recipe I used.
It is the easiest peanut butter cookie recipe I have ever saw.

I’m not sure of all I did on June 5th (I forgot to write anything down). I think I cleaned some in the playroom. My uncle who lives far away was visiting my other uncle who is sick (he has cancer) and decided to come visit us also. He came for a couple of hours and my brother and older sister were able to come and see him for a little while. I’m sure I went to the store (based on some of the pictures I took).

DSCN1402 copy
The sun setting behind some buildings that I passed after going to the store.

I took my mom to her doctor’s appointment (I used my oldest nephew’s car). I took my tablet with me and was able to get on the WIFI there with no problem. There was a guy there that was pruning the rose bushes. When we left, I picked up a rose and took it home. I put it in a small potato and will replant it in the ground to see if it grows again. [Update-I might have waited to long to replant it. It looked like it was dying when I planted it in the ground. A squirrel may have dug it up because a few days later it looked like there was a hole where I planted it and the rose was gone.] I did some laundry and hung it up outside. I cleaned the grill out (dumped the used coal) and soaked the grill plates so my dad could grill out. I went with my brother to the store so we could get some hamburger and hotdog buns. My brother’s girlfriend made (with the help of her foster girls) some cupcakes for my oldest nephew’s birthday. His birthday was May 28th, but we (those of us that live here and my brother and his girlfriend) were kind of celebrating it on June 6th.  My next to the oldest nephew was also here for supper. After supper my dad, mom, brother, oldest two nephews and I played Yahtzee and I won.

DSCN1410 copy
The rose that I picked up from the ground at my mom’s doctor’s.

DSCN1419 copy
The cupcakes that my brother’s girlfriend made (with the help of her foster daughters).

I went to a safety fair with my brother, his girlfriend, and their foster daughters. My mom went with me and my oldest two nephews also went. My nephews didn’t stay long. We ate lunch there then came home. My brother, his girlfriend, and the girls left to go to a birthday party for someone. My older sister and her husband dropped off their two youngest so that I could watch them while my brother-in-law went to the ER. He ended up staying (I can’t remember for how long). I ran to the store to get some things we needed for supper. My mom made nachos for supper. While she cooked the meat I made a cake for my oldest nephew (he wanted a red velvet cake for a late birthday present). I melted the cheese for the nachos and we ate supper. My sister came back from the hospital and I took her and her boys home (all of the boys). After I came home I frosted and decorated the cake.

DSCN8725 copy
The hats that the girls got at the safety fair.
This was the first time I had ever saw pink firefighter’s hats.

The message from June 8th was titled, “ How Jesus Helps Us To Prioritize Our Lives” and the text was Luke 10:38-42. Three lies that keep us busy are; 1) There’s Not Enough Time To Do Everything, 2) It’s Just a Busy Season Right Now, and 3) This Is Really Important. Four Truths About Busyness Based on Luke 10:38-42 are; 1) Busyness Begins With Good Intentions (Luke 10:38), 2) Busyness Develops Through Distractions (Luke 10;40), 3) Busyness Creates Pressure and Pity (Luke 10:40) and 4) Busyness Produces Resentment (Luke 10:40). Three steps we can take to help defeat busyness are; 1) Confess the Lie, 2) Name the Distraction, and 3) Choose what is Best (ask-What is my standard? How does my life choices reflect that standard? Is there anything I need to say ‘”No” to?).
I fixed my WIFI on my tablet by using a suggestion I found here.
Before church I had to take something to my brother-in-law at the hospital. My oldest nephew used my brother-in-law’s van to pickup my older sister and her boys. After church my parents and I went and got some lunch. My brother came and got his car. His girlfriend and their foster daughters came inside and stayed for a bit. The youngest one (who is two) is starting to warm up to us.

DSCN8779 copy
A cardinal that was in the backyard.

May 9th – 15th

I did some laundry and hung it up outside. I played outside some with my middle three nephews. They were here since their dad was in the hospital. I got my older sister from work and took her to the hospital so she could see her husband. I took my mom to the store so that she could get some groceries. When we got back home, my sister was back from visiting her husband. We all ate supper. My brother and his girlfriend came by to drop their foster daughters off so that my mom and I could watch them while they went to their small group (church group). The youngest didn’t want to stay, but the oldest one did. I took my sister and her boys home. When I got back home I found out that my uncle (my mom’s brother-in-law) had died. He had been battling cancer.

DSCN8792 copy
The sun setting behind some clouds as I took my sister and her boys home.

I went to the library to drop off some items and to pick up some items I had on hold. My mom and I then went and ran some errands. When we came out of a store, it was raining and we didn’t have any umbrellas. I got the car (my oldest nephews) so my mom didn’t have far to walk, but we got soaked anyway. We got gas in the car then went home. I went and got my older sister from work and took her to see her husband (the boys were here). After a few hours she came here and I took her and the boys home. I came home and had some supper then took the trash out. I haven’t been feeling well the past few days. It started as a scratchy throat on Sunday (June 8th). I got some medicine to help today.

DSCN8804 copy
One of the roses in the backyard that a squirrel had gotten to, but still bloomed.

I did an errand for my oldest sister (had to renew her registration for her vehicle). Shortly after I came home from doing that, I had to take something to my brother-in-law at the hospital. I came back home and did some laundry. I read some then went and got my older sister from work. As I was leaving, my brother-in-law called and said that they were releasing him from the hospital. I went and got my sister then went and got my brother-in-law. We came here and they got the boys (their three boys) and went home. I helped my mom with supper.

DSCN8811 copy
A unique vehicle that I saw when I was running the errand for my sister.

I picked my older sister, her husband, and her oldest from the hospital (my brother-in-law had a colonoscopy done). We came here and then I took my sister to the store (I got some things we need while I was there). We came back here and my dad drove my brother-in-law’s van to take my sister and her family home. I followed in my oldest nephew’s car. My dad and I came back home and I did some laundry and hung it up outside. I read some in my mom’s swing then I went through some boxes in the basement to see if any of the clothes would fit my nephews. I put ones that weren’t going to fit my older sister’s youngest two for awhile in a big tote. I cleaned some in my room. After supper I read some more in my mom’s swing.
I finished reading A Prairie Christmas (nine stories in one by nine different authors). I started reading it on November 9th. I started reading Child of Mine by David & Beverly Lewis.

DSCN8825 copy
The bird feeder I made today. I used a Pringles can to make it.

I took my mom to the store to get some things. We had to pick up her (prescription) medication at Walmart and ended up getting some things that were on sale. My mom got all her grandkids (the five boys and two foster girls) some bubbles. We stopped at another store on the way home so that I could get my dad some things for my dad for Father’s Day. I did some laundry and hung it up outside. I read some in my mom’s swing. My brother came here after work and his girlfriend and the foster girls came later. After supper my mom and I watched the girls while my brother and his girlfriend went to the store. They got some things that were on sale at Walmart and even got me a couple of pens.

DSCN8836 copy
A tiger lily that bloom near the side of the house.

My uncle’s funeral was today. My mom and I met my oldest sister there, she had her youngest with her. Her oldest picked up my older sister and brought her. My brother and his girlfriend also came. My mom, oldest sister and youngest nephew went with me to the mausoleum. My older sister went with my brother and his girlfriend. After it was over I took my oldest sister back to her vehicle (she left it at the funeral home). We then came back to my house for a bit (my nephew stayed with me). My mom and older sister went with my brother and his girlfriend to my aunt’s house where they were having a luncheon. I went and picked my oldest sister up at her house (her husband needed the vehicle) and we went to my aunt’s. My youngest nephew went with me. After awhile we left (my brother and his girlfriend left earlier). I took my older sister home then took my oldest sister and youngest nephew home. My mom and I came home for a bit then was going to get something for supper. My oldest sister left her phone in the car and as I was leaning back inside the car to look for it I leaned on my tablet (with my knee). I had sat it in the seat when I got out. I checked my tablet and there was a crack on the inside (the inside screen not the plastic/glass screen). The screen is white. UGH My mom and I went and got supper for her, my dad, and I. When I was done eating I filed a claim through the store we had bought it [thankfully we had bought the extra protection for it]. I then took my oldest sister her phone and my youngest nephew ended up coming back home with me to stay the night. I hemmed another blanket for a guy at church.

DSCN8849 copy
This is how my tablet looked after I had leaned on it.
I will need to send it back and the store will give me an e-card to buy another one.

Happy 16th Anniversary to my older sister and her husband!

The message from June 15th was titled, “Striving To Be a Good Dad”. Three Roles We Must Play in Our children’s Lives (regardless of their age) are; 1) Strive To Be a Good Example (Acts 16:31-34 & Joshua 24:25), 2) Strive To Be a Good Teacher (Proverbs 1:1-9 & 15:2), and 3) Strive To Be a Good Coach (Ephesians 6:4).
My brother and his girlfriend came here to pick up my brother’s car. My next to the oldest nephew was with them (he had spent the night with them). They left the foster girls here while they went to the store. We (the girls, my nephew, and I) played with bubbles and some toys here. My brother’s girlfriend is going to ship my tablet since UPS come to her work everyday. I’m not feeling well, my stomach is hurting.

DSCN8857 copy
This is the Father’s Day card that I made for my dad.

About erh77

I'm in my 30s and I love to take pictures. I thought I'd do the whole "take a picture a day for a year" thing. I made this blog to share those pictures.
This entry was posted in Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

