August 1st–15th, 2014

August 1st – 8th

I was going to hang up clothes outside on August 1st, but it was raining. I got the clothes that were already on the line (from the day before) as well as the blankets that were on my mom’s swing. I hung the clothes up in the basement. I hemmed a pair of shorts. My brother came over. Him and I went and ran some errands. My brother’s fiancé and their foster girls came over and they all ate supper with us. After supper my brother and his fiancé went to the store. I got my barbies out and played with the girls until my brother and his fiancé got back from the store.

DSCN0033 copy
The roses on the bush out front after the rain.
The rain makes the roses look fake.

I did some laundry then went and got my dad something for lunch. My mom and I then ran some errands. My mom got her hair cut. We then went grocery shopping. We came back home and I did some more laundry. I also dyed some clothes blue and hung them outside to dry. I soaked the grill plates so that my dad could grill out.

DSCN0048 copy
My mom and I saw this display at County Market.
We got some to try. It’s been a long time since I’ve had Salt Water Taffy.

DSCN0047 copy
The other side of the display.

On August 3rd we watched a Francis Chan video at church. He spoke on Philippians 3:8-11 and The Biggest Lie In Your Life.
I took a short walk after lunch.

DSCN0060 copy
These flowers are in my neighbor’s yard.
I think they are called Naked Ladies (or Surprise Lilies).

I took my mom to get a few groceries. I did some laundry and hung some of it outside and some of it in the basement. I hemmed a pair of pants, well I turned them into shorts. My brother, his fiancé, and their foster girls came over. My brother’s fiancé made us a chicken casserole for supper. Her and my brother left the girls here while they went to a Bible study. The girls and I played outside for awhile then came inside and played with Barbies and played dress up.

DSCN8721 copy
A new bloom on the rose bush in the backyard.

I moved the Step2 slide before the mowers came. I did some laundry and hung some of it up in the basement and some of it outside. I hung some more laundry up outside after dinner (hopefully it doesn’t rain). I then sat in my mom’s swing and read.
I finished reading The Accidental Bride (I started reading it on July 30th) and I started reading The Trouble With Cowboys. Both books are by Denise Hunter.

DSCN8738 copy
A Morning Glory bud.
In a couple of days this will open up all the way.

I started making some shorts for my next to the oldest nephew. I had promised him some shortly after his birthday (and his birthday was April 1st). I did some laundry and hung it up outside. I also read some (inside).

DSCN8742 copy
The rose bush in the backyard.

I finished the shorts I was making for my next to the oldest nephew (well, I have to put some elastic in the waistband). I did some laundry and hung it up in the basement since it might rain. My brother-in-law dropped off his youngest two kids (my middle and next to the youngest nephews) while he went to the ER. His oldest boy (my next to the oldest nephew) went with him.  After a couple of hours my nephew came back and said his dad was getting an i.v. I took the boys with me to get my older sister from work. I took her to run some errands then took them home. My brother came here and shortly after he got here my brother-in-law came back from the ER and took his van home. My brother and I then went and got some supper. My brother’s fiancé got here with the girls right before my brother and I got back with supper. After we ate supper I played with the girls inside since it was muddy outside. I tried to fix the rocking horse we have, but couldn’t. My dad ended up looking at it and fixing it.

DSCN8760 copy
One of the Morning Glories in the front yard.

I went with my parents to sign the lease for the place we are living right now. We then went to Borics so that my dad could get his hair cut. We then went grocery shopping and my mom bought me the movie “God’s Not Dead”. We also got some gas in the car. I finished the shorts for my next to the oldest nephew and did some laundry. I read some then my parents and I went and met my brother and his fiancé at Ruby Tuesday’s (they were treating my parents to an early anniversary dinner and included me). On the way home, my parents and I stopped and got some frozen yogurt. After we were home awhile my mom and I then went to the store and got some things for breakfast in the morning (we had forgotten earlier when we were grocery shopping).

DSCN8771 copy
The movie my mom bought me (“God’s Not Dead”) with the bracelets that came in the version I got from Walmart.

DSCN8791 copy
The moon through the clouds when we went to the store after supper.

August 9th – 15th

I did some laundry then went to a friend’s son’s going away party (well, first I went and got a card for another friend who’s birthday is coming up). The son is going to boot camp for the Marines. I stayed there for a couple of hours and socialized with some old friends that I hadn’t seen in awhile. I ran an errand then came home. I did some more laundry.

DSCN8806 copy
The sky over the house.

The message from August 10th was titled, “Mastering Connections”. We master our connection with God by; First, Knowing Who Christ Is (Ephesians 1:15-17, John 10:30, & John 14:9)-Three areas about Christ that we need to understand are His Power (Ephesians 1:19-20), His Honor (Ephesians 1:19-20, Philippians 2:6-9, & Hebrews 12:2), and His Authority (Ephesians 1:19-21 & Philippians 2:9-11)-, Second, Knowing Who We Are In Christ (Ephesians 1:18).
After lunch I cleaned some in my room.
DSCN8816 copy
My youngest nephew wearing The Armor of God.
They have been learning about The Armor of God in Children’s Church.

I cleaned some in the craft room and playroom. I finished my nephew’s shorts-I had put the elastic in the other day and re-sewed the waistband. I went through the small dresser in the extra bedroom and got rid of some clothes that won’t fit any of my nephews. I put some clothes in a box to give away. I read some then did some laundry. I cleaned some in my room and the extra bedroom. I helped my brother bring the love seat from the living room to the extra bedroom. My oldest nephew was here to help move couches. We are getting my brother’s fiancé’s old couches and my oldest nephew is getting our old couch. I used my oldest nephew’s car to go to the store to get some things we needed for dinner. My brother’s fiancé and their foster girls came here and had supper with us. My brother and oldest nephew moved the new couches into the house before we ate supper. After supper my brother, my oldest nephew, and my brother’s fiancé took  our old couch to my oldest nephew’s apartment. The girls stayed here and we played bubbles outside for awhile. We then came inside and played for a little while until my brother’s fiancé came and picked them up.

DSCN8833 copy
One of the many bubble wands we have.
This one is from a Lighting McQueen set of wands.
I was trying to get a picture of the bubble coming out of the wand.

I cleaned some in the craft room and swept the floor. I did some laundry and hung it up outside. I cleaned some of my room then read some. Our property manager came by and looked at the house and saw some things that needed to be worked on (she was suppose to do this before we signed the lease, but didn’t). Her and I saw some mold in the basement (on the concrete). After supper I read in my mom’s swing.

DSCN8854 copy
A rabbit running away from something in the side yard.

I did some laundry and hung it up outside. I found some buttons for a shirt I have had for awhile. The shirt will now fit my youngest nephew. I sewed some of the buttons on the shirt.
I finished reading The Trouble With Cowboys by Denise Hunter (I started reading it on August 5th). I started reading The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. [This is the book I got from the Library for the summer reading program.]

DSCN8879 copy
The sun trying to shine through the trees in the side yard.

I did some laundry and hung it up outside. My mom is having knee replacement surgery. She had to be at the hospital at noon and the surgery was scheduled for 2:50 p.m. My brother came here after work (to get information about my mom-I didn’t know anything). My oldest sister came after work to see about my mom. I still hadn’t heard anything and it was after 5 p.m. My sister wanted me to go with her over to the hospital. We went over and our dad was in the waiting room and said that the doctor was running behind and that the surgery didn’t start until after 4 p.m. Shortly after 7 p.m. they called the waiting room and said that my mom was moving into her room. My sister and I stayed for a little while and then came back here and my sister went home. My brother had left his car (his fiancé picked him up) and locked the house door. I got his car and went back to the hospital to pick up my dad. We then went and got some supper.

DSCN8884 copy
A friend of mine gave me this Cross plaque a few years ago.

My oldest sister came and got me so that I could be with her while she has gallbladder surgery (she is at a different hospital than our mom). She had surgery around 10:30 a.m. and was in recovery around 1 p.m. One of her friends came then and stayed with us until she was released (it was outpatient surgery). I drove her home (using her vehicle). We stopped on the way to get some medication she was prescribed. Her husband brought my youngest nephew and I back to my house. I’m watching my nephew over the weekend so my oldest sister doesn’t have to worry about him while she recovers. We played outside some then my youngest nephew wanted to go visit my mom in the hospital. We stopped at the gift shop and got some candy before seeing my mom. We stayed for awhile then we came back to the house for awhile. We then went and got my dad from the hospital and got something to eat for supper. We pulled out the hide-a-bed (bed that pulls out of the couch) and slept on it.

DSCN8893 copy
My youngest nephew brought my tablet with him when we went and visited my mom in the hospital. I’m not sure what game he is playing in this picture.

About erh77

I'm in my 30s and I love to take pictures. I thought I'd do the whole "take a picture a day for a year" thing. I made this blog to share those pictures.
This entry was posted in Life, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

